General Information

GEOHAB (Marine Geological and Biological Habitat Mapping) was established in 2001. This annual forum brings together scientists from around the world who are developing new methods and procedures to link remotely sensed data with seafloor geology and marine biology within a geospatial  environment. This approach underpins sustainable management of the ocean and seafloor resources. The general scientific theme of GEOHAB 2015 will be: Marine Habitat Mapping: Challanges of a Warming Ocean

The annual conference brings geologists, biologists, acousticians, statisticians, spatial analysts and environmental managers from around the world and provides a truly multidisciplinary forum for the exchange of knowledge and ideas that underpin sustainable ocean management.

The Geohab Conferences aims to:

  • Maintain awareness of technological developments and survey standards;
  • Identify existing metadata sources relevant to marine habitat mapping;
  • Develop new thematic maps relevant for fisheries management, biodiversity management, and the assessment of future Marine Protected Areas;
  • Encourage standardisation of maps through the creation of a habitat-mapping glossary and building links between marine mapping agencies worldwide;
  • Apply and evaluate habitat classification schemes to real ecosystems.


  • Alex Bastos (Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brazil)
  • Helenice Vital (Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil)
  • José Maria Landim Dominguez (Federal University of Bahia, Brazil)
  • Tereza Araújo (Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil)


  • Beatrice Padovani (Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil)
  • Michel Mahiques (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
  • Rodrigo Moura (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Jose Angel Perez (University of Vale do Itajaí, Brazil)


  • Alex Bastos (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil)
  • Daniel Ierodiaconou (Deakin University, Australia)
  • Gary Greene (Moss Landing Marine Laboratories, USA)
  • Geoffroy Lamarche (NIWA, New Zealand)
  • Markus Diesing (Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Sc., UK)
  • Margaret Dolan(Geological Survey of Norway, Norway)
  • Craig Brown (McGregor GeoScience Limited, Canada )
  • Andrea Fiorentino (Geological Survey of Italy-ISPRA, Italy)
  • Guy Cochrane (U.S. Geological Survey, USA)
  • Anthony Grehan (National University of Ireland, Ireland)
  • Aarno Kotilainen (Geological Survey of Finland, Finland)
  • Peter Harris (Geoscience Australia, Australia)
  • Alan Stevenson (British Geological Survey, UK)
  • Terje Thorsnes (Geological Survey of Norway, Norway)
  • Tim Le Bas (National Oceanography Centre, UK – (GEOHAB 2016 chair)
  • Vaughn Barry (Geological Survey of Canada, Canada)
  • Brian Todd (Geological Survey of Canada, Canada)
  • Scott Nichol (Geoscience Australia, Australia)